Day 17 – 20

Day 17, 18, 19, & 20.  My big project at work finished up on Day 19.  I can breathe a little easier for a few weeks, until the next big product launch.  Then we’ll do it all over again.

Obviously I’m still working on making me a priority.  But I’m getting better.  I have some wins to share in that regard.  But first let me catch you up.  Let’s start with my feet.  Last time on The Curious Case of Lucinda’s Feet we were trying to rule out an allergic reaction to processed soy mozzarella cheese.  In Day 16’s post they were still quite swollen.

Day 17

Day 18

Day 19

Day 20

The swelling is going down again.  I have not eaten any processed soy products in the last four days.  On Day 19, I did indulge in homemade, tofu, chocolate mousse after dinner, on Day 20 my feet were still improving.

Moving forward, my plan is to stay away from processed soy foods for the remaining six weeks. There’s so much to learn and I continue reading and researching food sensitivities, intolerance and allergies.  Food sensitivities cause your body to react in so many ways.  Weight gain or bloating is fluid retention caused by inflammation and then your body releases certain levels of hormones.  Which appears to be what is happening with my feet.

Once I start introducing foods back into my diet in a controlled manner, then it might be obvious that my body can’t tolerate soy foods.  The only other possibility might be my body is still adjusting to the hypothyroid medication.

I have two big wins to tell you about.

The first.  A week ago an old work colleague contacted me announcing that she and her husband would be in Portland this weekend visiting her brother and sister-in-law.  She invited us to have dinner with them.  I responded with a gracious thank you suggesting we show up after dinner instead, before explaining my recent dietary changes.  She insisted that we come for dinner claiming her sister-in-law who is a chef would be up for the challenge.  Well, it was a lovely evening.  Nice to catch up with Fran and Ken and lovely to meet their family.  How lucky were we?  Gracious hosts welcoming strangers into their home and having food prepared by a chef!  Can I have this every night?  We feasted on grilled salmon, roasted fingerling potatoes and green onions, along with a salad of mixed greens, veggies and blueberries.  Fran went out of her way to make a really good chocolate, tofu mousse.  Soooo good!   Josh raved about it all, especially the roasted green onions and the hummus.  Yes, he ate most of his dessert, but asked to feast on more hummus afterwards because he thought it was that good.  They sent us home with a container of hummus for him.  The win in all of this was being able to have an enjoyable evening by being open about my restrictions, and having them met with understanding.  I hope to meet Sasha again.  I have so many questions.  I didn’t get to hear the story about meeting Julia Childs and what wisdom Julia had passed on.  I hope she wasn’t offended when Josh said she and I should have a cook-off.  I quickly changed the subject.  I’m no chef… just a decent, home cook.  I truly love that my guy is my number one fan always.

My second win is about planning for BBQs and being around alcohol.  Last weekend when we had friends over for an evening around the fire, I was trying to fake enjoying my plain water.  Day 20, we were invited to a BBQ.  Assuming there wouldn’t be food for me to eat, I planned ahead and made Vietnamese Rice Noodle Salad. I used mung bean noodles, substituted the sugar with agave nectar, and added cooked shrimp.

I psyched myself out with a beverage of Perrier all night long… filled with fresh blueberries and strawberries.  It actually did the trick, I wasn’t at all feeling deprived or wishing I had alcohol at all.  I may miss the alcohol, but I sure don’t miss hangovers.

Actually what I really do miss is coffee and cheese.  Please body, don’t be intolerant of dairy… please.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 17 – 20

  1. jana says:

    hi friend,

    sounds like you have been working very hard, on work, and staying really true to yourself with your challenge 🙂

    What an phenomenal experience with your friends Ken and Fran, and chef Sasha 🙂 It seems like you are being taken care of spiritually. 🙂 I had such a hard time so many years ago saying no to alcohol, when I quit drinking, but it is really easy now…and yes, I cherish never having a hangover.

    That rice noodle salad with the cooked shrimp looks divine my friend; amazing how well you are transitioning and being creative at the same time 🙂

    Love you 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    Yeah, I was feeling jealous of you on Sunday morning when I woke up with a crushing headache!

    The salad was delicious. It was so nice seeing you – you are looking really good, Cinda – keep it up!

  3. heliotrop3 says:

    Being social and sticking with a way of eating are tough! You rock for finding ways to accomplish this! Ad I love the food alternatives you are coming up with!!! I really hope you discover what it the culprit of your swollen feet. Go Cinda Go!!! xo.

Leave a Reply

