Day 10 -13

Smoothies are my saving grace.  They are easy.  They are filling.  They supply me with a great amount of energy to get through the morning.  Eight mornings out of 13, smoothies have saved me from the adjustment and planning of this big change.

The big lesson is in making myself a priority.  This is a big one for me and it leaves me feeling really vulnerable.  Each day it’s a challenge, but I’m working on prioritizing me.  I’m learning it’s okay to take one hour in the morning just for me to set intentions and nurture my body, mind and spirit.  I didn’t like being away from this new blog for four days straight, and I didn’t like that me, myself and this project kept falling further down my priority list, and the corporate world’s fire drills kept rising to the top.  Nope, didn’t like that at all.  So, this coming week is a new week and I’ve set a calendar date for me each morning.

The second lesson is just a reiterating the fact that this lifestyle requires a lot of planning.  I’m getting better… and then some days I slip back.

Due to poor planning, day 12 & 13 I started to feel deprived.  Wanting caffeine so badly.  Part of our weekend ritual was treating ourselves to a Starbucks.  Me, a quad-venti-nonfat-latte.  Him, a venti-nonfat-no whip-mocha.  Day 13, as my guy scooted out the door to grab his mocha I was left feeling really deprived.  I immediately started thinking about green tea or matcha drinks I could enjoy as replacements (more on that tomorrow).

Day 13 we were planning a little backyard gathering.  A friend was visiting from out-of-town and wanted to meet up at a bar or restaurant.  Being that this change is big and I’m still adjusting, I’m trying to avoid places full of temptations.  I suggested we have a small gathering of friends in our back yard instead.  Without planning out my lunch and taking time to sit down and nourish myself, I ran off to Home Depot and Ikea for a few items.  How cruel is it when you’re checking out of Ikea there is a strong odor of cinnamon buns wafting through the air, and on the way out the door you pass by adults and children licking soft serve ice cream?  I made it out safe, and was safely distracted by a phone call with a dear friend.

I completed my errands, I did more yard work, I showered and had a minute to relax before everyone showed up.  Our newly manicured back yard and fire pit were a big hit.  My guacamole another big hit.  Great time with friends and seeing my guy in good spirits laughing and sharing stories makes me happy.  However, I found myself pining for a cold beer, or a tasty cocktail.  I was really trying to enjoy sucking down water, but it was hard to keep my mind off of alcohol.  I wasn’t having a pity party, I just took a moment to recognize that once again I put everyone else first.  Next time I will plan and concoct a carbonated water drink infused with fresh fruit.

More informative sharing coming up in tomorrow’s post.  I still have to tell you about Maya Abdominal Massages, new cookbooks I’ve acquired and some other fun items.

I hope everyone is having a fabulous weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 10 -13

  1. Holly says:

    Weekends are tough. I had a total food meltdown today. Damn! Way to go, Cinda. Ikea treats and alcohol are not easy to turn one’s back on!!!

  2. fi says:

    Yay! You’re back blogging, I missed you! 🙂 Amazing job! I’m in awe. Yup! It all needs a lot of planning, but you’re handling it brilliantly. Your pics of smoothies are awesome! Well… the second one made me laugh. I’m sure it was delicious, but it looks like a dijon mustard smoothie! ha! 😉 Mmmm, gonna make me one for breakfast now. You’ve inspired me! Glad you had such a great weekend! xx

  3. Lucinda says:

    Fi, you’re cracking me up. It was a delicious smoothie. All of them have been. That particular flavor was orange, banana and pineapple. Mmmm.. can’t wait for morning.

  4. kelly says:

    It sounds like you are learning a lot about pitfalls and how to avoid them. Isn’t it amazing how much food and drink can become comforting habits – beer, mochas, cinnamon – for me these are things that I allow myself as rewards or incentives, e.g., My boss was mean to me so I deserve a beer. If I have a mocha, I’ll clean the house better since I have caffeine. All kinds of excuses. And people in the backyard drinking beers and you with a glass of water . . . . well you must have amazing willpower. You are doing a fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

