Day 7

Day 7.  I’m so grateful to live in the Pacific Northwest where we have an abundance of berry picking farms.  I was up early, picked up a friend and headed out to Sauvie Island which is a short, 20 minute drive outside of Portland.  The island is full of u-pick farms,  and lovely views.  All the berries seem to be ripe right now.  Our selection for the day –  blueberries and raspberries.  I’m certain I ate a full pint of those raspberries while I was picking them.  They were so juicy and sweet – DELICIOUS!

The entire flat will last the whole week.  The blueberries are a little on the tart side, but will be great for adding into smoothies or baked goods down the road.

The chocolate mousse from day six was so good, and I was so shocked how good it was that I took two parfait glasses and ran down the street to a friend’s house to share.  Turns out she was having girl’s movie night.  I busted in on five of them sitting down to watch a chick flick and they gladly became taste testers attempting to guess the main ingredient.  Avocado… was a big surprise to them as well.  Can you tell I’m still shocked by how well it worked as a binder and fat replacer?  So good.

During the “taste testing” the topic of agave nectar struck up an interesting conversation about the cons of this product.  Several of them had recently read and heard that agave is worse than high fructose corn syrup.  I still need to do a lot of research on my food choices as I move through this plan and lifestyle changes.  For now, I’m going to continue using agave nectar as a refined sugar substitute, and use it in moderation.  I’ll do more research this week and share what I find.  Already I’m overwhelmed by the amount of posts there are over the controversy of agave nectar.  Today I don’t need to be more overwhelmed than I already am.  One step at a time is where I’m at, and for the most part I’m sticking to whole foods than substitutes.  I just didn’t want to feel deprived during my first week.  The sugar cravings over the last year were so out of hand, I didn’t want to risk falling back on old patterns and bad choices.  I’m not going to make that mousse every day, and it got me excited about possible replacements to satisfy my sweet tooth.

Speaking of excited.  One other perk of this past week was the excitement I felt over being in the kitchen and preparing meals again.  I think I was a little burnt out on our food, and losing interest in cooking and being in the kitchen.  I am the sole food preparer in our relationship and sometimes I just don’t want to work a busy eight-hour day and then spend another hour or two in the kitchen making food.  But the challenge this last week has made me excited all over to be in the kitchen.

Josh and I don’t fight, but if we were to fight over anything, I’m certain it would be over who gets the last crab cake.

Crab is in season right now and it’s so sweet and savory that I can’t pass up the lumpmeat in the store.  Last year I made crab cakes for the first time for Josh.  I think that night he fell in love with me all over again.  So, I wanted to try making them gluten-free and dairy free.

I used a basic Maryland Crab Cake recipe and adjusted it.

  • 1 lb fresh crabmeat
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tblsp Veganaise
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tblsp old bay seasoning
  • 1/2 red pepper, finely minced
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, finely minced
  • 2 tblsp chopped italian parsley
  • 1/2 cup glutino gluten-free breadcrumbs

Mix together all the ingredients.  Form into patties and roll in gluten-free breadcrumbs to coat.  Place on parchment lined baking sheet.  Spray lightly with olive oil and bake on each side for 15 min (or until golden brown) in a 375 degree oven.

I made a sauce with Veganaise and Cholula.  Served with Bobby Flay’s Sauteed Kale, sliced radishes and leftover mango salsa from Day 4.

I was full of energy today.  My feet were only a little swollen at the end of the day, but it had been the busiest day of my week and I was on my feet a lot.  But no definition lost in my ankle and I could still see a couple of veins in my left foot.  No other improvements to note at this time.

See you tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 7

  1. Leonie says:

    Hello! I heard your address on this week’s call and thought I’d have a look at your website. You take some amazing photos! The berry ones together look like a little story board – this yummy-looking piece of art! Good luck with your diet change – I hope your body will reward you and encourage you to continue!

  2. jenn r says:

    you’re giving me great ideas for my GF diet cinda! can’t wait to try the crab cakes recipe. thanks!!!

  3. KellyA says:

    I am so excited for you. It looks like things are going well. I am cheering for you. Made some major diet change myself in the last few days and it feels good. Keep on going!

  4. Tina says:

    Ooo, I need to go to Sauvie Island next July. I love raspberries and pretty views!!

    You new found energy is coming though in the blog! Glad to hear you are enjoying cooking again! xo

  5. kelly says:

    The crab cakes look tummy. Do you freeze your berries? I freeze bananas and berries for smoothies and then I don’t use ice.

  6. fi says:

    Yee-har! Nice going! You’re doing so well. 🙂 How did the crab cakes taste then? Could you tell the difference at all?

    I know what you mean about the controversies over certain foods. Somedays it’s just darn overwhelming, but you dealt with it perfectly! I was umming and erring over smoothies losing nutrient content if I blended them, then left them in the fridge overnight. I knew it wasn’t the best thing to do, but timewise, it worked. My coach told me to take it easy on myself. A smoothie that is maybe past its best, is a hundred times better for you than a cup of milky coffee… so, I should just go with the flow and enjoy myself! 🙂

    I’m sure agave isn’t the healthiest, but the huge difference is that your food choices have changed. Instead of chocolate, you’re eating delicious, healthy chocolate mousse, etc. So, congratulate yourself, you’re doing a fantastic job! These questions about agave will get ironed out in time.

    I recently heard that a new product called coconut nectar is a healthy alternative to agave. Maybe you could have a quick look at that when you’re researching it?

    Lots of love
    xx

Leave a Reply

