Day 6

Day 6.  I think I’ve already admitted that I’m addicted to chocolate.  Big, big fan.  And I’m more of a fan of milk chocolate than dark chocolate.  Have you been wondering how a GF/DF/SF girl can get a chocolate fix?  Hang in there with me, and the end of this post I tell you about a phenomenal chocolate mousse that I made.  This is especially for my friend Fi.

First are you wondering about my feet?  My feet this entire day were great.  Everything seems to be getting easier and my body is responding well to new challenges.  In the morning I headed over to Anybody Pilates for my session with Holly.  I did three new exercises, one more advanced than last time, and two exercises she returned to the routine.  I wasn’t able to complete those two before.  I believe Holly was quite pleased, she gave me a star.  Is it possible that in just six days of eliminating most foods from a diet it makes that much of a difference in your body’s abilities?  Around 2pm my back was quite sore, but not angry or in such pain I was unable to stand up straight.  I’m sure it was sore because I haven’t been able to push my body in a while.

Holly’s studio overlooks a small restaurant and all session I would look down and see people feasting.  It was making me hungry for a yummy weekend breakfast – like pancakes.  Pancakes made with Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pancake Mix.

Fresh eggs, flax seed oil, Coconut Milk Kefir, Earth Balance Vegan Sticks, and Raw Agave Nectar = YUM!

Charged and ready to go after those pancakes, I found myself with a great amount of energy.  The rest of the day was spent getting along further in projects that have been on my “to-do” list forever, and meals for the next couple of days.

Thanks to Karina at Gluten-Free Goddess we had an easy salmon dish for dinner.  I followed her suggestion and made potato salad and broccolini.

I could not wait until dessert.  Have I kept you in suspense long enough?  Do you want to know how to make delicious chocolate mousse with alternative sweetener? Here are the four ingredients you’ll need.  That’s right.  Your screens don’t need adjusting, avocados are the main ingredient.

For sweetener this time I chose to use raw agave nectar.  There are some recipes that use soaked dates as the sweetener.  I think I’ll try dates next time.  Because there will be a next time because this mousse is DELISH!  I’m not even a fan of the avocado.

Raw Avocado Chocolate Mousse

  • 4 ripe avocados
  • 1 cup agave nectar (I found this to be really sweet.  Next time I will cut back on the amount to 1/2 c.)
  • 1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used dark cocoa powder)

Cut open avocados and scoop out the insides. Combine with other ingredients and blend until smooth.  I actually used my stand mixer and beat the avocados for several minutes.  But if your blender is powerful, unlike mine – I would suggest a blender.  Cut the avocado into small pieces to make it more manageable.  Mixing in a food processor would work as well.  Right after mixing this I tasted and noticed a slight after taste.  The after taste disappear after several hours of chilling.  Enjoy!

That was day 6.  A day full of energy, successes, and really good food.  I wish everyday could be a relaxing Saturday where there’s time to cook, photograph the process and enjoy the fruits of your labors.  Ah… to be Oprah with all her abundance.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 6

  1. jenn r says:

    just as i started typing this someone on the telly said, “i cannot see that there is much too eat.” (‘the musketeer’) what funny timing! i’m so inspired by you. i’ll be following your journey and learning what i can. i’ve just been told that i’m insulin resistant and possibly either gluten intolerant or sensitive and must go on a 30-day gluten-free diet soon. i will def be trying your chocolate mousse…looks delish!!! best to you always… :*

  2. Tina says:

    I’m totally making that dessert! I love avocados. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  3. fi says:

    First up… let me just say, AVOCADO????!!! ha ha ha ha! oooooh, you’re so fickle! heeee! ;-p So pleased you found a way to enjoy it. 🙂

    Secondly, you almost made me cry! I love the recipe and can’t wait to try it out. You really touched me with the dedication. You are a sweetheart. {huge hug}

    I have to say you are a complete inspiration. I am so pleased your energy levels are up. That’s what I found too… and only after a few days (the first few days were rough, with headaches and chills, a bit like you, but pushing through was worth it). At the end of the first week, I felt like I was high on life. I couldn’t believe it was a natural high! What struck me most, was my consistent energy levels… I didn’t crash and feel tired or crave snacks inbetween planned meals. When I ate, I would really enjoy my food and would clear the plate too. I also really began to enjoy preparing food… I have so much to say, gah! No time! 🙂

    Keep up the great work, CC. Loving reading about it all.

    Jenn – can’t wait to hear your progress on your 30 day gluten free plan. Good luck with it!

    Fi
    xx

Leave a Reply

