Day 1

Yesterday, day 1 went pretty well.  I’m taking Christine Kane’s – Uplevel Your Life course, so I really focused on staying positive and setting an intention that I wouldn’t feel deprived or at a loss for anything.  It was also the first day back to work after a week off, so the meetings, spreadsheets, and emails kept my mind off the food.

I started off my morning with a Vega drink.  A complete whole food health optimizer.  I can’t say I loved the taste.  It’s a powder just mixed with 8 ounces of water, shaken well.  As a matter of fact I thought it tasted horrible, but I’ve had worse.  Chinese medicine tinctures taste pretty bad.  I just kept thinking; it’s only 8 ounces, you can do it.  It did fill me up and provided a good source of energy.

The rest of the morning and afternoon went great.  I even managed to spend my lunch hour having a pilates session with the lovely Holly.  My body always feels great after our sessions.

Dinner was Crabmeat Salad with Avocado and Mango.  A recipe from Dr. Mark Hyman’s Diabesity Prescription

  • 1 lb. lump crabmeat
  • 1/4 c. minced scallion
  • 1/4 c. diced fennel
  • 1/4 c. finely diced red bell pepper
  • 1/4 c. minced cilantro
  • 1 tsp. minced jalapeno pepper
  • 1 tsp. lime zest
  • 5 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 tbsp. fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 avocados, halved, pitted, peeled and cut into thin slices
  • 1 c. diced mango
  • 2 tbsp. snipped chives

Flake the crabmeat into a bowl.  Gently fold in the scallions, fennel, red pepper, cilantro, jalapeno, and lime zest.

Combine 4 tablespoons of the extra-virgin olive oil, 3 tablespoons of the lime juice, and the salt and pepper.  Pour over the crab and gently mix.

Combine the remaining 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil and 1 tablespoon lime juice with a pinch of salt.  Fan the avocado slices on each plate.  Drizzle with the extra-virgin olive oil and lime juice mixture.  Place the crab salad at the base of the avocado on the plate.  Place 2 tablespoons of the mango on the side of the crab.

Sprinkle with the chives.

Serves: 8

Prep time:  25 minutes

Cook time:  none

This is quite a tasty salad.  I’m not a fan of avocado, but mixed with the crabmeat I was able to fool myself that I wasn’t eating a mushy avocado.

About an hour later I was thinking it would be a lovely evening for a walk, but my body completely shut down.  I had no energy, I got the chills and became so tired I couldn’t keep my eyes open.  I tried staying awake for a while, but I was out by 9:30 pm.

Day 1 complete.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 1

  1. fi says:

    Well done, you! Great start! I dislike those powder tasting things too (I have veggie bars with algae powders in the cupboard for hunger emergencies) and I really kinda have to be super hungry to eat them! 🙂 That powdery taste sucks! ha! I’m working on finding some alternatives, so when I do, I’ll let you know. I think to succeed at this, we’re gonna have to find things we want to eat and are drawn towards, rather than ‘substitutes’ that we know are good for us, but taste a bit rubbish. I’m doing a raw food course at the moment and that is one of the main things we’re looking at currently. It was weird, I thought we would begin with food plans and ingredients, but the first 2 weeks have been about emotions and attitude towards food – very enlightening! I would never have thought it was that important.

    Salad sounds delicious! I’m not a huge fan of crab, but avocado I could eat every day! I’m finding your recipe posts like a bonus gift of inspiration for me! 🙂

    Sorry you ended the day a bit tired and with chills. That’s not a great feeling. Is it your body detoxing do you think? Stick with it, honey. You’re doing so well. xx

Leave a Reply

