Week Seven – My Love for Baking

When I started the six week program I thought that going gluten-free would actually be difficult. For me and my needs, turns out, it’s not all that challenging. It requires a little organization and planning, especially when you’re dining out. Once I set out on my journey I began finding so many gluten-free blogs. You’ll find many of my new favorites in my blog roll. A great deal of GF bloggers showcase baked goods and these bakers have mastered the science of baking and substituting gluten-free flours for the traditional ingredients. I’m not sure how good I’ll be at transforming a large stack of recipes I have saved, but I’m willing to take on the challenge. First I am relying on those who have already blazed the path so I can learn about all the different flours and discover my own preferences.

I purchased my first gluten-free baking book earlier this year and tried a couple of recipes. All the recipes only used almond flour. I didn’t like any of the results. The end products were too crumbly and the almond flavor overpowered the other ingredients. I won’t even share the author or title. The book is now on the shelves of some Goodwill. The second book I purchased was Easy Gluten-Free Baking, by Elizabeth Barbone. I’ve mentioned this book when I made blueberry muffins, Day 26. This week I decided to try her Classic Chocolate Chip Cookie based off the infamous Toll House recipe.

 

 

CLASSIC CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1 ¼ cups white rice flour
  • ½ cup sweet rice flour
  • ¼ cup cornstarch (I used tapioca starch)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt

Wet Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup (1 ½ sticks) butter, softened (I used Earth Balance butter – it’s what I had on hand)
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar (I used palm sugar)
  • ¾ cup brown sugar (I used date sugar)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 (12-ounce) bag chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life GF, soy free chocolate chips)

     

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Whisk together dry ingredients
  3. In a mixing bowl, cream together butter, sugar, and brown sugar until a thick paste forms, about 1 minute. Add eggs, 1 at a time (I like to bake with my eggs at room temperature), mixing well between each addition. Add dry ingredients and vanilla; mix until a dough forms. Stir in chocolate chips with a wooden spoon.
  4. Drop rounded tablespoons of dough onto cookie sheets, about 2″ apart.
  5. Bake first sheet for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown.
  6. Remove sheet from oven and place on a wire rack to cook, 3 to 5 minutes then transfer cookies directly onto rack to cool completely. While first sheet is cooling, bake the second sheet of cookies. Store cookies in an airtight container.

Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

What I’ve discovered about gluten-free baked goods is they are better after they’ve been frozen. The good folks at New Cascadia Traditional Bakery taught me that when I bought my first loaf of gluten-free bread from them. I haven’t learned the science behind why freezing makes GF baked goods better, but I’ll share as soon as I find out.

My second recipe from this book and I think the results are quite good so far. These cookies were tasty. Half way through the baking process I peered into the oven and noticed they weren’t flattening out. I’m certain the Earth Balance was the reason. So I took them out and with the bottom of the glass flattened them. Perfect!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week Seven – My Love for Baking

  1. jana says:

    Looks yummy! such a sucker for original tollhouse cookies….some things can sit and get eaten slowly or by others in our home….tollhouse, I’m tellin ya, they talk to me…they won’t let up :)

    Hope these turned out as yummy as they look :)

  2. fi says:

    Yum! Stick the kettle on, I’m on my way over! ;-) Very helpful advice on freezing gluten-free, baked goods… I’d never have thought to do that! xx

Leave a Reply

