Day 36-40

Day 36-40. Tell me which one of the two photos makes your mouth water more and why? All this practice with food photos, I’m realizing that I need to have my eyes checked stat. I’ve got my lens on manual focus to make it easier to find the exposure and focal area. I’ve also been using my Rebel’s live view which makes it easier to work on the tripod and shoot from lower angles. However, when I look at the shot through the LCD screen I swear the shot looks focused. Then I upload them, and nope… not all of them are perfectly focused. Oh doctor, doctor. Or I could just remember to magnify my shot and check sharpness. Yes, still learning my camera and its functions a year and a half later.

So, tell me what’s more exciting, my food styling and photography, or my investigative journey with my diet?

Day 36-40 haven’t revealed too many new changes with my body. I think the most significant change is I just love how I feel after I eat. I don’t feel bloated. My gut isn’t angry. My conscious eating has kicked in as well, and I can sense the triggers of my stomach being fuller much sooner. I’m even eating smaller portions than when I started this journey. Day 40 I stepped on the scale and I’m down eight pounds and 5% BMI. This really incents me to get my feet in order so I can get moving, start sweating and working off the pounds.

Day 36 the temperature got to 98 degrees in Portland. Hot for us Portlanders. I grilled salmon and served it with an arugula, spinach, blueberry, jicama, and roasted golden beets salad with a lemon dressing. Oh my, that was a good salad. The salmon had a perfect smoke flavor and a good char. It was the perfect feast for a hot summer night.

One of the many things I love about Portland, when you attend most events you’ll find something that you can feast on. You meet a variety of diets when you socialize around this town. On day 37 I attended a baby shower and feasted on scrumptious black bean burgers (no bun, just lettuce and mustard), corn salad, and fruit salad with mint. I was happy that I wouldn’t be sitting amongst the other guests only eating one thing. I only wish the temperature had not been 97 degrees while we sat outside eating. Good thing we were all sweating together. Aside from the heat it was a lovely afternoon. I passed on the cake even though it was from Sweatpea Bakery an all-vegan bakery. I wasn’t sure if the flours were gluten-free, or if it was made with refined sugar. I’ll have to volunteer to make a GF, DF, alternative sugar cake for an event soon. I feel the urge to bake a delicious cake. Anyone in Portland celebrating a birthday or other event any time soon, and you want to be my guinea pig?

We’ll see if I have any takers. It will also give me an excuse to get my cake plate/stand props out for the photography. Speaking of props… ever since the workshop on Day 28 all I can think about are food props. I’ve snatched quite a few goodies in the last eleven days. Many of them from Etsy, like the tray under the blackberry dish. Prop collecting is going to be fun, and dangerous! But mostly fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Day 36-40

  1. Holly says:

    I like the second shot. The first feels like I’m hovering over the berries. The second feels like they are sitting right in front of me waiting to be eaten!!!!!

  2. Phil says:

    They’re both great shots, but to me the top bowl of berries is more tantalizing. the angle of the bowl suggests its closer. It becomes “my bowl of berries”, not that bowl over there. Also I like the way the frame is filled by the table cover.

  3. Jim says:

    I like the first shot – and perhaps for the same reason that Holly dislikes it. I feel like the first shot is a more natural view from my perspective. I can see the berries through my own eyes, so it immediately triggers a taste response in my brain. The second shot is a view that I would not normally see, so the representation of the berries triggers more of an analytical response, i.e. I’m thinking about composition and things that are more visually relevant.

    Hope that makes sense. Also, I think the colors in the first one are much more lively, with the blues and the flower pattern, which also excites my senses.

    • Lucinda says:

      How great… two of my CCAD alums giving me props and opinions. Thanks Jim and Phil. Jim, your analysis is fantastic! I love it.

      So much fun when my audience is engaged and providing feedback. Thank you!

  4. Leonie says:

    To me, the top one is a delicious mix of colours and associations. It makes me want to dive right into that bowl of berries. Strangely enough, the bright, busy background colours only help to highlight the calm, tasty, zen-like berries. I want some now! Beautiful shots :)

    • Lucinda says:

      Leonie, it’s so nice to see you. Thank you for your feedback. I’m really surprised that everyone loves the shot from 45 degrees. I thought the background would be too much. You’re giving me so many ideas. Thank you for visiting and commenting.

  5. heliotrop3 says:

    Ooo, I’m loving your food styling!!! All the shots are great. But I love the salad and salmon shot the best, and I do not even like salmon!

    Yay for feeling great after eating and for loosing 8 pounds!! Keep it up girl! You are such and inspiration, you inspired me to finally find out why my tummy gives me troubles at times. I have been working with a homoeopathic doctor and I’m excited to start a flower remedy and make some changes to my diet! xo.

    • Lucinda says:

      Tina, thank you so much. When I started this blog I had no idea I would inspire anyone. That means a lot that my actions and my story may help someone else discover something about their own health. I’ve only just started my journey and I appreciate you being so present now and from the beginning. Big hugs to you friend.

  6. Kenth says:

    They are both really great shots, but I like shot #2 better from a food styling standpoint, because the berries look plumper. I love the scale of the bowl you chose. All of your photos are excellent! Neither one made my mouth water though because I don’t like blueberries. They remind me of little clumped communities of fetid pustules, too much like the place in which I grew up. The salmon, however, made salivate uncontrollably. I had to mop my chin and neck with an absorbent towelette, then spot-treat and rinse the front of my tshirt. Next time I view your salmon (tonight!) I will hold a cup under my face.

    • Lucinda says:

      Oh Kenth, you make my sides split. Sorry you don’t like blueberries, and sorry that you don’t know your blueberries from your blackberries. You might like blackberries. Or maybe you don’t and you do like blueberries, but you just typed that you don’t like blueberries. Or maybe you just don’t like berries. In that case – that makes me sad. Berries are what makes summer worthwhile. When you come to the PacNW next year I hope it’s during summer and we’ll feast on fetid pustules – I mean berries. Florida can only grow citrus. You probably just don’t get good berries.

      • Kenth says:

        Oops – blackberries I meant. Those are the ones. Not only are they purulent, they also have secret tooth-cracking pebbles inside. Or are those raspberries? Oh well, guess you’re right. I don’t know my berries. You’re wrong about Florida though: along with citrus, we also grow pitbulls and carnival workers (but they are both made of meat).

  7. kelly says:

    WTF!? WHy is POrtland so hot this summer.?

    My favorite berry shot is the one on the top. NOt sure why but maybe because the other one has so much negative space. I usually like negative space in portraits. Not so much for food I guess.

  8. Amisha says:

    Hi Lucinda,
    Okay I am so glad I stopped by your blog. Loving it.

    First and foremost the I like the first picture, it has so much more color and I gravtitate towards color.

    Secondly, have you tried the dioptric adjustment on the camera – it helps adjust the camera to your visions?

    I have gained 5 pounds this summer, so I am trying to reign that in. More exercise, paying more attention to everything I eat. So coming to your blog has been inspiring!

  9. jana says:

    OK, this thread is a bowl of fun in itself :) what a great crowd you have here friend :)

    The first shot is my choice, the berries looks fresher somehow and they draw me in more :)

    I am loving the value of your colors and the lighting :)

    That salmon salad sounds amazing and it looks even more scrumptious in your photo.

    Great fun friend, great progress and an incredible journey unfolding here!!

    • Lucinda says:

      Thanks girl. This was a really fun post, mainly because all of the banter.

      That salmon is really easy on the grill – you can totally do that. The salad was easy too… aside from the chopping of veggies and easy dressing (lemon & oil with shallots) was the roasting of the beets (on the grill). Clean the beets (leave outer skin on), place in tin foil, drizzle with oil and a pinch of kosher salt and roast until you can easily pierce them with a fork. Let cool, cut off outer skin, chop, enjoy!

      xoxo

Leave a Reply

