Day 29 -31

Day 29 – 31. When I started the Diabesity Prescription I was a bit shocked of all the vitamins and minerals recommended for daily intake. In February lab tests showed I had a vitamin B-12 deficiency as well as low iron in my tissues. Since then I’ve been taking B-12 and ferrous sulfate. The doctor said that the B-12 deficiency was probably causing most of the nerve damage in my left foot, creating more numbness than the effects of my herniated disc. For years I’ve been taking multivitamins, Omega-3 and Probiotic Acidophilus supplements for my angry gut and keep yeast infections at bay.

Are vitamins and minerals necessary? It’s been interesting research. Studies and trials of vitamins and minerals and their effects on the body show very little influence on health. Those vitamins and minerals that prove to be the most beneficial from research show fish oil and vitamin D, lowering the risk of heart disease. Over and over studies show people who eat diets rich in fruits, vegetables, nuts, whole grains, and fish consume higher levels of vitamins and minerals from these food sources. It’s common sense, right? You’ve heard it all your life and by studying the food pyramids. So why don’t we always make good choices for ourselves? Our society has become one of convenience. I’ll admit to falling into that convenience trap. My diet has not been balanced in these food groups for years. There’s a contradiction when you look in our fridge. It appeared to offer a mix of healthy foods, but I have been eating far too many simple carbohydrate foods that counteract the good foods. All the pastas, breads and processed alternative meats I’ve eaten have been wreaking havoc on my system. Of course, the stress over the last couple of years hasn’t helped, and I’m the first one to admit that my coping mechanism is food – milk chocolate to be exact. Oh right, chocolate isn’t really food.

The goal with the Diabesity Program is to find out which foods my body is now not able to tolerate, and focus on eating whole foods. My body is so unbalanced I feel a regime of pill popping every day is necessary to help get back in shape. Dr. Hyman provides a self-assessment test with the program. You take this before you start so he can offer recommendations based your assessments. Going through each category I was checking off loads of symptoms resulting in high scores. In the end I was categorized in the Advanced Plan, which he recommends additional supplements beyond the Basic Plan.

That results in a lot of supplements. Here’s our kitchen counter-top.

  • MetaGlycemX – for healthy insulin activity and glucose levels.
  • Omega-3 – supports healthy function in body systems including cardiovascular immune, gastrointestinal, and musculoskeletal.
  • Vitamin D3 – improves metabolism
  • Vitamin B-12 – helps maintain healthy nerve cells and red blood cells.
  • Alpha Lipoic – reduces blood sugar and heals a toxic liver. It can be helpful for healing nerve damage and neuropathy.
  • Calcium & Magnesium – Calcium increases insulin sensitivity. Magnesium helps glucose enter the cells and then helps that glucose get burned.
  • Probiotic Acidophilus – recommended for repopulating the micro flora in the bowel.
  • Co Q-10 – helps lower fasting insulin and glucose level, and improves blood pressure. May also slow aging.
  • Green Tea – can increase fat burning and metabolism. I put a heaping teaspoon of green tea matcha powder in my smoothies.
  • Fiber pills – to help digestion. From my recent post, you know I’ll take all the help I can get.
  • Protein Powder – anti-inflammatory properties and support detoxification. It helps balance your blood sugar too. I’ve been using brown rice protein powder.
  • Levothyroxine
    – medication for hypothyroidism.

Friends have been asking what changes I’m starting to notice in my body. Frankly, there aren’t many and the few changes have been subtle.

  • Edema – the most significant change, I’m not as puffy.
  • Sugar cravings – so much better than before.
  • Headaches – I don’t get them as often.
  • Concentration/focus and memory. A slight improvement, I feel the brain fog has dissipated.
  • Depression – I don’t feel as depressed.
  • Constipation or diarrhea – Regularity of bowel movements which as you know I celebrate!
  • Soft, cracking, brittle nails and ridges – The ridges on my fingernails are starting to disappear and my nails are stronger.
  • Strange white patterns on my tongue. My tongue is starting to have a consistent coating, instead of the white patches. After I brush it twice a day it appears normal, but a few bumps.
  • Chronic yeast infections – so far so good.
  • Skin rashes – improved, but get worse during my cycle.
  • Bad acne on face and scalp – improved, but my scalp still gets bad during my cycle.

What hasn’t changed all that much?

  • Chronic fatigue
  • Chronic stress
  • Muscle fatigue, pain or weakness and cramping
  • Aching and stiffness in joints
  • Itching skin
  • Burning eyes
  • Thinning hair
  • Sensitive to cold
  • Numbness in my left foot (caused by L-5 herniation) worsening. When I try to walk or exercise my toes, feet, and calves cramp badly.

My feet are still the big mystery, and until I figure them out they keep me from being aerobically active. It’s so frustrating. I know if I’m active I’ll be losing more weight. And I want to lose more weight!  My feet got better, then got worse, then got better, and on Day 31 below, they are swollen and in pain again.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 29 -31

  1. Holly says:

    There is improvement! I know you feel frustrated and dejected sometimes. Understandably so. Keep at it, my dear :-)

  2. fi says:

    You’re doing an amazing job, C! Dig deep, sweetpea and keep working hard. You’re making noticeable improvements and loads of progress. Look at how much you’re learning and how far you’ve come. You’re doing it! Keep going! :-) xx

    • Lucinda says:

      Thanks for cheering me on Fi! I’m happy you’re here, reading, cheering and supporting me. It means a lot. How are you? How’s the raw experience?

  3. Pingback: Week Seven – My First Week with Dairy |

Leave a Reply

